National Scholastic Writing Award Winners 2017

National Scholastic Writing Award Winners 2017

Congratulations to Augusta Bowhay '17, Gold medal winner and to Bianca Sass '19, Silver medal winner!

Harpeth Hall is proud to announce and congratulate the following students as National Scholastic Writing Award Winners:
  • Augusta Bowhay, Class of 2017, GOLD medal award, Personal Essay & Memoir category for "Coat of Many Colors" NOTE: Augusta was one of only two students in Tennessee to win a gold medal in writing on the national level this year.
  • Bianca Sass, Class of 2019, SILVER medal award, Poetry category for "Flee: The Triangle Shrtwaist Factory Fire and the Syrian Civil War"

Since 1923, the Scholastic Art & Writing Awards have recognized the vision, ingenuity, and talent of our nation's youth, and provided opportunities for creative teens to be celebrated. Each year, increasing numbers of teens participate in the program, and become a part of their community of young artists and writers, filmmakers and photographers, poets and sculptors, video game artists and science fiction writers, along with countless educators who support and encourage the creative process.

Through the Scholastic Awards, teens in grades 7–12 from public, private, or home schools can apply in 29 categories of art and writing for their chance to earn scholarships and have their works exhibited and published. A noteworthy roster of past winners includes Andy Warhol, Sylvia Plath, Truman Capote, Richard Avedon, Robert Redford, Joyce Carol Oates, Stephen King and John Updike.

As was announced in an earlier website post, Harpeth Hall performed extremely well this year:

  • 151 total Scholastic Awards were given to 71 Harpeth Hall students at the regional level
  • 29 regional Gold Key awards were given to 21 Harpeth Hall students
  • 2 National medals were awarded: one gold (Augusta Bowhay, personal essay/memoir) and one silver (Bianca Sass, poetry)

We could not be more proud and excited for Augusta and Bianca - and all of our Harpeth Hall award winners! We look forward to reading more of their work in the years to come. Congratulations!